51° San Marcos
The Student News Site of Texas State University

The University Star

The Student News Site of Texas State University

The University Star

The Student News Site of Texas State University

The University Star

Cross country closes regular season at Sun Belt Championship meet


Texas State senior Justin Botello finished second in the Naimadu Classic Oct. 17 with a final time of 24:29.90.

The Texas State men’s cross country team placed fifth and the women’s team placed sixth at the Sun Belt Conference Championships Oct. 31 in Mobile, Alabama. 
Texas State was led by senior Sydney Cole in ninth for the women and senior Justin Botello in 14th for the men.
Women’s 5000-meter race:

  1. Arkansas State – 44 points
  2. Appalachian State – 47 points
  3. South Alabama – 71 points
  4. Troy – 77 points
  5. UT-Arlington – 158 points
  6. Texas State – 182 points
  7. Coastal Carolina – 197 points
  8. Little Rock – 204 points
  9. ULM – 239 points
  10. Georgia Southern – 255 points
  11. Louisiana – 271 points

Through 1000-meters, the women’s team was in fifth place with 115 points. Cole was in third with a pace of 5:33 (+0:06 from first), followed by senior Esmeralda Fuentes in 17th and a pace of 5:36 (+0:08 from first).
At 4000-meters, the Bobcats began to slip a bit as they ranked sixth with 185 points. Cole fell to 10th place with a pace of 5:50 (+0:41 from first). Fuentes also fell in the rankings in 21st place and a pace of 5:57 (+0:59 from first).
Texas State finished the race in sixth place with 182 points. Cole managed to climb up one spot to ninth with a time of 18:02.7 (+0:50 from first). Fuentes finished in 23rd place with a final time of 18:41.1(+1:29 from first).
Cole was named to the Second Team All-Sun Belt for her performance.
Arkansas State finished in first place with 44 points. The Red Wolves were led by senior Pauline Meyer in second place and a time of 17:17.4 (+0:05 from first).
Appalachian State placed second with 47 points led by junior Izzy Evely who finished third at 17:36.6 (+0:24 from first.)
South Alabama finished third as a team with 71 points. The Jaguars were led by senior Carolien Millenaar in first place and a time of 17:12.6. Millenaar was named Sun Belt Runner of the Year and First-Team All-Sun Belt.
Men’s 8000-meter race:

  1. South Alabama – 39 points
  2. Appalachian State – 55 points
  3. Arkansas State – 56 points
  4. UT-Arlington – 78 points
  5. Texas State – 133 points
  6. Little Rock – 152 points
  7. Louisiana – 181 points
  8. Troy – 212 points
  9. ULM – 247 points
  10. Coastal Carolina – NTS

1000-meters into the race, the Bobcats’ men’s team was in fifth place. Botello led the team in ninth at a 4:46 pace (+0:01 from first) followed by freshman A.J. Tyler in 13th at a 4:48 pace (+0:02 from first).
At 4000-meters, Texas State remained in fifth place. Botello continued strong as he held onto his ninth-place spot at a 4:57 pace (+0:13 from first). Tyler slipped down to 29th place at a 5:09 pace (+0:43 from first).
Texas State finished the race still in fifth place with 133 points. Botello fell a couple of spots to 14th place and finished at 25:41.0 (+1:14 from first). Junior Pedro Osorio Lopez managed to climb the leaderboards into 24th place, finishing with a time of 26:40.4 (+1:56 from first). Tyler could not keep up his pace and finished right behind Lopez in 25th place with a time of 26:26.4 (+1:59 from first).
Botello was awarded a spot on the Third-Team All-Sun Belt.
South Alabama took home first place with 39 points led by freshman Collin Yego in third and a time of 24:39.1 (+0:12 from first).
Appalachian State placed second with 55 points. Junior Isaac Benz led the Mountaineers in second place with 24:33.7 (+0:06 from first).
Arkansas State finished in third with 56 points. Sun Belt Runner of the Year senior Bennett Pascoe led all runners with a time of 24:27.2.

Donate to The University Star

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas State University. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The University Star