The University Star


A historic photograph of Old Main
-Courtesy of The University Archives


The University Star, also called The Star, is the student-run news organization at Texas State University and one of the oldest publications in the state. The Star provides news and information on issues affecting the university, as well as the San Marcos community.

The first issue of The Star was published in February 1911 by student Fred W. Adams, son of the founder of Adams Extract and Spice Company. At the time, Adams was milking cows, carrying wood for his room and board, and selling his father’s extracts to pay for an education at a small teacher’s college in the Texas Hill Country.

Adams, who was 20 years old at the time, made a proposal to the college president and assured him that Adams would absorb any printing costs that advertising didn’t cover. In exchange, the president allowed Adams to keep the profits.

With student body approval, the newspaper became the documentation tool of the institution’s history. The name of the paper, The Star, can also be traced to Adams who noted in his diary, “The Star rose again all right today.” And, it has been rising each day on the institution’s grounds ever since.

The Star has published steadily from 1911 through the Great Depression, two world wars, as well as the Korean, Vietnam and Gulf Wars. Lyndon Johnson, the 36th president of the United States, served as the summer editor of The Star in 1930.

Mission The University Star strives to uphold the following non-negotiable core values:

  • Accuracy
  • Impartiality
  • Honesty and integrity
  • Inclusivity and fairness
  • Transparency and accountability
  • Humanity and public service

As a student-led publication, we view our newsroom as a learning experience and strive to uphold the highest standards of journalistic ethics. We aspire to the goal of encouraging constructive conversation among our campus community and serving as a forum for discussion and debate.


Journalism is an act of civic responsibility. We see our work as a public service that is necessary for any community to thrive, because knowledge is empowering.

The University Star is editorially independent from Texas State University, meaning fellow students make all the decisions about what to cover and how. The university has no say in our content. Period. Our journalism is by students, for students. We also venture into San Marcos to cover the issues that are important to the community that hosts our university because the two are so interconnected.


The University Star is located in the Trinity Building on the Texas State University campus at 203 Pleasant Street. Our main phone number is 512-245-3487. Email is [email protected]


The Star has the largest newsroom covering San Marcos. Our student journalists cover a range of issues from health care, immigration, transportation, sports, and local government.


The University Star hosts the Star Stories event each year to highlight the first-person stories of those in our Texas State community. This event is held annually during Mass Comm Week in October.

The University Star also hosts Soapbox Soundoff once a month on The Quad to educate students on their First Amendment rights and encourage them to voice their concerns.


Our students regularly volunteer in our community having participated in Bobcat Build, Sights & Sounds, and Great Texas River Cleanup events both in fall and spring.


The Star prints 4,500 newspapers each Tuesday during the long semesters that are distributed at locations across campus and the city of San Marcos. The organization also has a website, a weekly subscription e-newsletter, as well as a social media presence on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. The Star added an app in the fall of 2018 that can be downloaded for free in the app store.

Professional Memberships

Associated Collegiate Press (ACP)

College Media Association (CMA)

College Media Business and Advertising Managers (CMBAM)

Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ)

Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA)


View our awards and honors here.

Defending the First Amendment since 1911