84° San Marcos
The Student News Site of Texas State University

The University Star

The Student News Site of Texas State University

The University Star

The Student News Site of Texas State University

The University Star


If you're interested in submitting News, click here.


If you're interested in submitting a Letter to the Editor, click here.

The Star wins 17 awards at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association


The Star’s 2019-20 fall semester editorial board poses for a portrait outside of Old Main at Texas State.

Dear readers,
We are pleased to announce that our publication won 17 awards at this year’s Texas Intercollegiate Press Association!

TIPA is the oldest collegiate media organization in the country. It consists of 77 public and private two-year colleges and four-year universities in Texas that teach journalism or have existing or planned student publications. The annual awards honor excellence in student media.
The event, originally scheduled to take place in Corpus Christi from March 25-28, was canceled due to growing concerns over COVID-19. However, competition for previously-published content (from 2019) took place virtually.

Texas State competes in Division I, which includes A&M-College Station, Abilene Christian, Baylor, TCU, Texas Tech, University of Houston, University of North Texas, UT-Arlington, UT-Austin, UT-Dallas, UT-El Paso and UT-Rio Grande Valley.
Here’s a list of The Star’s winners:
Previously Published Division I
First Place, Special Edition Print Design “Year in Review,” Staff
Second Place, In-Depth Reporting “University officials attempt to fill gaps in Clery reporting,” Jakob Rodriguez
Second Place, Headline Writing, Staff
Second Place, General News Photo “Cite and Release,” Rebecca Harrell
Third Place, Editorial “Texas State, Do Your Job,” Staff
Third Place, General News “Free Speech Feud,” Sierra Martin
Third Place, Documentary Video “Flaka: The Legacy of Brihana Landrum,” Jaden Edison and Rebecca Harrell
Third Place, Photography Environmental Portrait “Memorial Day,” Jaden Edison
Third Place, Overall Design Website, Staff
Third Place, Sports Page Spread Design “Sept. 24, 2019,” Molly Gonzales
Third Place, Interactive Graphic “Iconic Village Plans,” Sawyer Click
Honorable Mention, Interactive Graphic “Sexual Assault Crimes Timeline,” Camelia Juarez
Honorable Mention, In-Depth Reporting “Haven Only Knows,” Laura Figi
Honorable Mention, Editorial Cartoon “Luv is Luv,” Lindsey Taylor
Honorable Mention, Sports Feature Photo “Homecoming Celebration,” Jamie Dorsey
Honorable Mention, Cover Design Newspaper “Oct. 15, 2019 issue,” Molly Gonzales
Honorable Mention, Overall Design Newspaper, Gloria Rivera
Winning awards is a testament to you, our readers, who allow us to enter your lives—through both the good and bad—and tell your stories. We realize it’s a privilege to do our jobs—to serve the public—and we don’t take it for granted.
We will continue to work tirelessly at serving the Texas State and San Marcos community and provide accurate, fair, honest and diverse coverage. We will continue to get to know you and your stories and serve you with the utmost respect and gratitude.
You play a major role in our success. We just want to say: Thank you.

Donate to The University Star

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas State University. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The University Star